Befriending Fear

What would happen if we  faced our fears? What would happen if we befriended our fears?

Pema chodron tells a story in her book “When things fall apart ” about a young student warrior facing fear and asking fear how she could defeat it?

The young warrior roused herself and went toward fear,  and asked, “May I have permission to go into battle with you?” Fear said, “Thank you for showing me so much respect that you ask permission.” Then the young warrior said, “How can I defeat you?” Fear replied, “My weapons are that I talk fast, and I get very close to your face. Then you get completely unnerved, and you do whatever I say. If you don’t do what I tell you, I have no power. You can listen to me, and you can have respect for me. You can even be convinced by me. But if you don’t do what I say, I have no power.” In that way, the student warrior learned how to defeat fear.

Mostly fears tend to scare people away. Next time you notice a thought that invokes fear, smile and greet it as a friend.  Acknowledging fears and not turning away  is a big step towards regaining personal power.

Peace,

Shobhna

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Befriending Fear

  1. The only fear I have is snakes and I will NEVER befriend one! I once came within a few feet of one, but it was my feet that turned and ran away, my face was in too much shock to respond!! ;D

Leave a Reply

